Those who can, do…

I studied and trained to be a teacher. There is something about teaching that is so noble and so fulfilling.

When I first walked into a classroom filled with young minds teeming with potential, I was scared. I was to teach four different classes for our practicum – our last year in college. For one whole year, I would be their teacher. Was I up for this challenge? Was I a good enough teacher or would I just let these students down? Will they really learn something from me? What if I fail? These questions scared me. Sure, I already had years of studying (and good grades, too!) to back me up as a teacher, but… was all that enough?

Fortunately for me, I did fairly well as a practice teacher. My students got good marks, my supervising teacher was happy with my work, my college professors were proud, and I got good grades!

The most important thing I got out of practice teaching was not a mark on a class card, though. It’s the experience. My exposure to the day-to-day work of a teacher, my involvement with the teaching staff and with my students, and my better understanding of the teaching profession were all so much more important than a flat 1 in my transcript.

Also, I was really lucky to have had the opportunity not only to teach, but also to be taught by my students.

I taught my students how verbs and tenses should work together; they taught me how to work with different types of people.

I taught them how the different verb tenses work; they taught me how to handle tension in the classroom.

I taught them about the active voice and the passive voice; they taught me to listen to everyone.

I taught them a lot of things while I also learned a lot of things from them. It’s true what they say, “once a teacher, forever a student.”

Teachers give most of their time and energy trying very hard to make sure students learn and understand everything they need. This is why I find it disconcerting that teaching as a profession is so often looked down upon. It saddens me that our truest and sincerest warriors are usually undervalued. I really hope more people start seeing teachers – really good teachers – as the heroes that they are. There are those who say, “those who can, do; those who can’t, teach.” I believe they are wrong. I believe all teachers will prove them wrong. After all, who can do a thing better than the one who teaches it? 😉


The one exclusive sign of thorough knowledge is the power of teaching.

– Aristotle


 

In answer to: The Daily Post’s Writing Challenge – Student, Teacher 

5 thoughts on “Those who can, do…

  1. simply brilliant. I think teachers are very under appreciated nowadays. I’m sure you feel satisfied when your students understand what you taught them! 😀

    Like

Write a comment...

