The Day My Mother Climbed a Mountain

After climbing my first mountain, I promised myself two things: that I will continue to hike for as long as I can and that I will take as many people as I can outdoors. Of course, I want to be able to share the experience with my closest friends. More importantly, I want to be able to take my family hiking; most especially, my mother.

For my 2013 year-end climb, I decided I would take my mom with me. I chose a climb that would not require too much physical strain because I didn’t want to exhaust her. Also, I wanted it to be simple yet special; easy yet grand. In the end, I decided to climb Mts. Cabuyao and Sto. Tomas in Tuba, Benguet. My mom and I were joined by a good friend, Enzo, in this climb.

Mt. Cabuyao and Mt. Sto. Tomas as viewed from Baguio City
Mt. Cabuyao and Mt. Sto. Tomas as viewed from Baguio City

With both mountains being radar and communications tower sites, there was a road going up to the very summit of Mt. Cabuyao. Because of this, the “climb” was actually very easy. The following pictures were taken from the view deck on the summit of Mt. Cabuyao:

After Cabuyao, Mt. Sto. Tomas was a bit more difficult to climb. The cemented road could only take visitors as far as maybe an hour away from the actual summit. The rest of the way consisted of rough road and hiking trails. Here are some pictures taken along the road/trail:

Halfway to the climb, on a stairway leading to one of the towers, my mom decided to rest and let Enzo and I summit Sto. Tomas on ourselves. It was a good decision since the last of the trails leading to the summit proved to be a bit challenging. Here are some of our pictures on the summit of Mt. Sto. Tomas:

It was a great climb. It gave us very nice views of Baguio City and the mountains of the Cordilleras.

Most importantly, I was able to take my mother hiking.

my mom and i


And there goes another item crossed of on my 30 before 30 list. 🙂

[I just thought I’d re-post this since it’s Mother’s Day. Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there!]

4 thoughts on “The Day My Mother Climbed a Mountain

Write a comment...

