In Retrospect: My Non-Meeting with Mitch Albom

I love reading books. I especially love reading books by my favorite authors. Mitch Albom is one of them. That is why when I first found out he was coming to the Philippines to have a book signing event, I knew I couldn’t miss it.

Last February 22, I skipped a chance to climb another mountain just to have at least one book signed by Mitch Albom. Two things about me: I love books and I love the mountains. So trust me when I say it was a difficult choice. It’s not everyday that you get a chance to meet one of your favorite authors, though. So I figured I’d attend the book signing event.

I arrived at the venue a bit late. Well, not really late – not for the event. The thing is a lot of people had already been lining up very early in the morning. (I was at the mall at around 10am, when it just opened) I did not lose hope, though. I was planning on meeting a friend after I had my book signed. I thought I’d be done by 4pm. Boy, was I so wrong!

IMG_3099
my own copy of Albom’s latest book, #1565?!

I was #1565 in line. This I found out after hours of waiting in line to be registered and to have my book marked. I didn’t have to be a genius to know that I’d be stuck in the event longer than I expected.

IMG_3098
only a fraction of the people who wanted to meet and greet Mitch Albom

Fortunately for me, my friend Sarah was among the VIP and I got her to have my book signed for me. Never mind that I was not able to shake Mitch’s hand or to have a picture with him. I was going to meet a friend! My uncle was with me that day, btw, and in the craziness of it all, when I gave my copy of The First Phone Call From Heaven to my VIP friend, I totally forgot about him! He was okay with it, though. He wanted to have his book signed himself (with his wife).

IMG_3097
that’s my Tito Jeff being interviewed for Mitch, literally for Mitch
Untitled
photos from my friend‘s Instagram
IMG_3100
with over two thousand books he had to sign, I can understand why he wasn’t able to write any message

I later found out that my uncle had his book signed after all. But that was only after more than 10 hours of waiting! So if I’d stuck around to have my book signed myself, I would have been there until 10 in the evening! I would have missed the date with my friend. It was a good call, I guess.

"look up!" Tito Jeff and Tita Iya with Mitch Albom
“look up!” Tito Jeff and Tita Iya with Mitch Albom

Mitch Albom did say he’s going to go back here. I’ll just wait for that to happen and when it does, I’m lining up at 4 in the morning!

Write a comment...

